Full 1
Full 1
Full 1

IMAC South Africa – International Miniature Aerobatic Club

Scale aerobatics is aerobatic operation of a radio controlled scale model of full-sized aerobatic competition plane.  

While other disciplines within the radio control community fly aerobatics, the requirement for scale aerobatic is that the model be replicas of types known to have competed in International Aerobatic Club (IAC) competition.  

A wide choice of competitive planes are available to today’s model in both kit and ready-to-fly versions.  Some of the most popular competition planes such as the Extra 330 pictured here are available from numerous manufacturers. 

Originally started as a Special Interest Group under the US modeling organization, AMA, the International Miniature Aerobatic Club (IMAC)  has grown to represent and organize scale aerobatic competition on a global level. 

IMAC is a non-profit organization focusing on pilot education and maintenance of rules and guidelines governing the sport.   Pilots interested in scale aerobatic competition are encouraged to join and support the organization’s mission.

The Competition

Groups of pilots come together to fly and compete in organized events operated under established rules.  Pilots fly a “sequence” of pre-established maneuvers  in front of judges.  Starting with a perfect score of 10 for each maneuver,  judges will deduct for deviations or errors.   Sequences generally consist of 8 – 10 maneuvers.

As with full-scale competition, pilots are separated into classes with each class getting progressively more challenging.  Each class has a “known” sequence published every year that is flown at every event held during that calendar year. In the higher classes, a sequence is presented to the pilot at the event that they have not seen before (called an “unknown”). 

Scoring is based by “round” which consists of all pilots in a class flying their sequence in front of the same judges.  The pilots are then ranked within that round.  The judges are changed and the pilots fly their sequences again.  By rule, the pilot’s lowest round(s) may be dropped.  In the end, the pilot in a class with the highest score wins the event.

There are five main classes:

  • Basic – Entry level class with basic aerobatic maneuvers.  Pilots in this class may fly ANY plane of any size which does NOT have to be a scale model of a competition plane.  This class flies only a KNOWN sequence.
  • Sportsman – Maneuvers get just a little more challenging and pilots are now required to use scale model aircraft.  In this class, unknowns are introduced. 
  • Intermediate – Maneuvers increase in difficulty as slightly more complex figures are introduced.  Unknowns become more challenging.
  • Advanced – In this class, the pilot should be able to fly most any figure presented.  The difficulty here is that sequences get more challenging as more complex figures are added together.
  • Unlimited – exactly what it sounds like….no limits!  Pilots in this class are presented with the most challenging sequences and complex unknowns.  A true test of pilot and machine that requires experience and skill developed over time.

In addition to the main competition classes, there are two other classes that may be offered at an event:

  • Free Style – spectator sport extraordinaire!  Aerobatic flying set to music!  No predefined figures as anything goes in this class!  Pilots are judged on originality, musicality, and general piloting skills.  Free Style is not offered at all events but is the most popular part of an event for the non-flying crowd.  Free Style competition is open to pilots of ANY class but the pilot must also compete in a main class.
  • Seniors – Best pilot over 55 as judged across all classes (excluding Basic).

Most events are weekend affairs starting on Saturday morning and running until Sunday afternoon.  There are many “special” events such as judging schools, introductory events (for Basic only!), as well as regional/national championships.  Events are scheduled many months in advanced and upcoming events may be found on the event calendar in each IMAC region’s main page.

In the US and Canada, there are 6 regions – Northeast, Southeast, North Central, South Central, Northwest, and Southwest  Outside the US/Canada, each country maintains its own regional structure.  You can find what region you live in by starting with the geographical area in which you live and looking under Regions on this website.